Early Childhood Homeschooling Made Easy

Taking teaching and your child's future into your own hands.

Summer is coming to an end

on September 22, 2013

It feels like summer just started, and now it’s already coming to an end. The weather is getting cooler (some days), kids are back in school (or homeschool), and the fall decorations and clothing are in the stores. I find myself already looking at my fall recipes and coming up with comforting meals to keep us warm on cool fall evenings.

Santa's Village 2012 from phone 002

Santa's Village 2012 from phone 004

My daughter and I successfully grew two pumpkins this year. We already have one sitting outside on our patio table. We’re putting away some of our summer decor and bringing out the fall stuff. I’ve been looking in Kayla’s closet wondering if she has enough long sleeve shirts and long pants for the fall and winter.

pumpkins 2013

Summer is my favorite season, so I always feel a little sad when it’s coming to an end. There is something about warm, bright sunny summer days that makes me feel carefree and happy. Maybe it just brings back a lot of awesome memories of summers with my family and friends from when I was little. I used to spend long days outside playing with my friends, and would stay up late watching movies with my family at night. My family used to take summer vacations to Florida to visit relatives, and go to the amusement parks. Of course, my favorite was always going to the Magic Kingdom at Disney World. (Even though Busch Gardens in Tampa was always a lot of fun too.) It’s hard not to love a magical little self-contained city like Disney World. It’s a place where fantasies come alive and dreams come true. It’s a wonderful place for kids and families. I will cherish those summer childhood memories for the rest of my life.

Kayla’s summer sessions of gymnastics and dance have ended. We’ve already started our fall session of Mom and Mini gymnastics. Kayla’s summer reading programs have all ended. We’ve officially started our preschool homeschooling for the year by doing workbook pages, playing learning games, working on letters and numbers, and watching learning videos.

home pics and disney countdown chart 002

Oh, and our Disney vacation that once seemed so far away is now under 60 days away. Before I know it, we’ll be heading to Florida and Kayla will be experiencing her first plane ride and Disney World vacation. I booked this vacation back in January, so it’s hard to believe it’s getting so close now. Kayla and I made a Disney Countdown Chart (see previous post) in July, when my sister’s family went on vacation, so Kayla could understand how much longer we still had before it was our turn to go on vacation. When we made our chart, we still had 114 days to go. Now we have 48 days left. It’s amazing how fast time goes by. When we get home from our trip, Kayla will be celebrating her 3rd birthday.

Selecting a clothes pin to remove from our countdown chart.

Selecting a clothes pin to remove from our countdown chart.

Kayla showing me the clothes pin she took off our Disney Countdown chart.

Kayla showing me the clothes pin she took off our Disney Countdown chart.

Erasing the old number on our chart so I can write in the new number.

Erasing the old number on our chart so I can write in the new number.

home pics and disney countdown chart 021

home pics and disney countdown chart 022

home pics and disney countdown chart 025

home pics and disney countdown chart 026

All the clothes pins we already removed from the chart.  This was at 60 days left.

All the clothes pins we already removed from the chart. This was at 60 days left.

We’ve had a great summer. We’ve gone to the state fair, a county fair, Santa’s Village Azoosment Park, the zoo, and took a trip to Springfield. We also just attended a fall fest, which is always a lot of fun, and took Kayla to see Disney on Ice. Although I’m sad that summer is ending, I am ready to enjoy the wonderful things we have planned for this fall and winter. Only a couple more months, and we’ll be getting ready for Christmas. Summer may be my favorite season, but Christmas-time is my favorite time of the year.

Ride at Santa's Village.

Ride at Santa’s Village.

By the pool at my friend's apartment building in Springfield, IL.

By the pool at my friend’s apartment building in Springfield, IL.

At the Illinois State Fair.

At the Illinois State Fair.

I hope everyone had an awesome summer with their family and friends.

Leave a Reply

