Early Childhood Homeschooling Made Easy

Taking teaching and your child's future into your own hands.

Rainy Day Activities

on April 26, 2013

Last week, we got a bunch of rain in the Midwest. Streets, parking lots, and many homes and businesses were flooded. We had two leaks in our basement. We were lucky and didn’t get a lot of water down there, but it was enough that our carpet got wet and we had to move furniture out of the way. We also had to rip into the drywall and paneling in our finished basement in order to patch the wall where there were leaks. This was an unexpected expense. The good news is it gave my husband the excuse he needed to re-do the paneling in our basement. He has never liked the paneling that was put up on the bottom portion of our walls by the previous owners. Now he has the opportunity to put up paneling he likes, and the way he wants it done. I think in the end, he’ll be happy.

Areas where we had the two leaks in our basement.  This was before the wall guy came out to fix it.

Areas where we had the two leaks in our basement. This was before the wall guy came out to fix it.

While my husband has been worrying about the basement, I’ve been keeping our daughter and my nephew busy, as usual. I’ve been doing art projects with them, playing games, and working with them on color and shape sorting. I’ve also been buying new materials to help with teaching them to learn how to write letters/numbers, draw shapes, cut simple shapes out of paper, identify opposites, etc. I’ve been a busy little bee.

New workbooks

New workbooks

The Alex Toys Ready, Set, School set.

The Alex Toys Ready, Set, School set.

The contents of the set.  Workbooks, crayons, a shoe to lace, scissors, stencils, etc.

The contents of the set. Workbooks, crayons, a shoe to lace, scissors, stencils, etc.

One day last week, I had them use stamps to make a picture. I brought out the number stamps so I could take the opportunity to work with them on identifying numbers. Of course, they were more interested in putting the stamps in the ink than learning numbers, but it’s still worth the effort.

0418131659-00

0418131659-01

A picture Alex was working on.

A picture Alex was working on.

At night before bed, my daughter has been doing color and shape sorting. I’m amazed at how well she is doing compared to just a few weeks ago. The great thing is she thinks the sorting is a game, so I have no issues with getting her to do it each night.

Edu stuff, 1st hair cut, and Tumblebear open gym 007

In the bedroom, we also have a word wall where I put up words that I’m working with Kayla to become familiar with and learn to recognize. Part of our bedtime routine is to go over these words.

0419132143-00

I’m looking forward to nice weather where I can get the kids outside for a change, but until then, it’s nice to have some rainy day activities to do.

Leave a Reply

