Early Childhood Homeschooling Made Easy

Taking teaching and your child's future into your own hands.

Valentine’s Day

on February 15, 2013

Valentine's Day 2013 016

Four years ago on Valentine’s Day, my husband proposed to me. It wasn’t a huge surprise. We talked about getting married and I knew he was getting me a ring. I just didn’t have any idea when he was planning to give me the ring. He proposed in a very cute way, and a little less than 5 months later, we were married on a beach in Hawaii.

Now days, with a 2-year-old daughter, Valentine’s Day tends to not be as romantic as when we were dating. I’m not complaining by any means. I kind of enjoy the laid back Valentine’s Day rituals we’ve settled into over the last few years. Yesterday, my husband went to work like any other day. Around 11:00, the doorbell rang and the FedEx guy delivered a Build-A-Bear for Kayla and a box of flowers for me. Kayla was super excited to receive her first box that was actually addressed to her. Kayla also enjoyed getting her other small Valentine’s gifts from me and from her grandma (my mom). She got four books, a box of Scooby Doo candy, a light up Scooby Doo cup, and a Scooby Doo box.

Valentine's Day 2013 002

Valentine's Day 2013 013

Valentine's Day 2013 017

Valentine's Day 2013 022

Once Kayla was dressed, we went with my mom over to my sister’s house to drop off some small Valentine’s gifts for my nephews. Kayla was very proud of the finger-paint Valentines she made herself, and the Scooby Doo Valentine’s that she scribbled on. Kayla got a few small gifts from my sister and her family. My nephew is currently recovering from strep throat, so it was a very short visit. Afterwards, we stopped off at a bakery to pick up some special after dinner treats, and then we went out to lunch. The bakery we went to had some cute little heart-shaped cakes with strawberries on top. I couldn’t resist.

Valentine's Day 2013 021

Valentine's Day 2013 019

Valentine's Day 2013 023

When my husband got home from work, we had Valentines left out on his desk to surprise him (along with a blueberry danish from the bakery). My husband suggested we get soup and sandwiches from Panera Bread. We called in an order and he picked it up. We had a very filling dinner, and waited till later to eat our special treats from the bakery. We spent some quality time together as a family watching TV and playing. And my husband and I were even able to find a little bit of time to ourselves, which doesn’t always happen. We may not have gone out to a fancy restaurant, but it was a nice day. I went to bed happy.

Valentine’s Day is about spending time with people you love. Sure, the romantic stuff can be nice, but sometimes a quiet evening at home with your family is just as sweet. I hope everyone had a great Valentine’s Day.

Leave a Reply

