Early Childhood Homeschooling Made Easy

Taking teaching and your child's future into your own hands.

The Easiest Spaghetti and Meatballs Ever – Made with the Ninja 3-in-1 Cooking System

on February 3, 2013

spaghetti and meatballs 006

Ok, so this is my third post with a recipe using my new Ninja 3-in-1 Cooking System. I got this easy spaghetti recipe from the cookbook that came with my Ninja. I really wasn’t expecting to be impressed since making regular spaghetti isn’t that hard. You boil pasta, drain it, add sauce and meatballs, and you’re done. No big deal. Simple. But somehow this easy recipe from the cookbook managed to impress me. And it doesn’t even use fresh meatballs. The recipe calls for frozen meatballs. (Even though you can easily do this with fresh ones, if you want.)

The recipe has only four ingredients. You put them in the cooking pot, set the unit to oven, and let it cook for 25-30 minutes. When you take the cover off, you have this delicious spaghetti dinner that took NO effort. Seriously, it takes no effort at all to make. If you have older kids, they can make this meal for the family with no problems.

Easy Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe

– 4 cups water
– 1 lb uncooked spaghetti noddles, broken in half (Or just put them in whole.)
– 1 jar pasta sauce
– 1 package (24 oz.) frozen meatballs

Pour 4 cups water into pot. (I used 4 1/4 cups because the pasta soaks up all the water and I didn’t want it to burn.) Stir in spaghetti, sauce, and meatballs. (The recipe says to break spaghetti in half, but I put it in whole.) Put unit on OVEN at 300°F for 25 minutes. (I suggest 30 minutes. When I checked at 25 minutes, not all of the pasta was tender yet.) Cover and cook until pasta is tender and meatballs are hot, stirring occasionally. NOTE: When using thinner sauces, use 3¾ cup water. For whole grain and thicker pastas, increase cooking time by 2–4 minutes, or until pasta is tender. Serve immediately.

All the ingredients in the pot and ready to be cooked.

All the ingredients in the pot and ready to be cooked.

About to stir it and check to see if the pasta is getting tender.

About to stir it and check to see if the pasta is getting tender.

Ready to eat.  Yum!

Ready to eat. Yum!

That is literally all it takes to make this meal. I let my Ninja pre-heat while I got my ingredients out. I added the water to the pot and put the spaghetti noodles in without breaking them in half. I put a little sauce directly on top of the noodles, then added the meatballs, and covered the meatballs with the remaining sauce. I stirred it all together, just a little bit, then covered. It is important to stir this at least once during cooking to make sure the pasta is cooking evenly and isn’t sticking together. Other than that, there is nothing else for you to do. Just sit back and let it cook.

There is no need to drain any water. The pasta soaks up all the water. The spaghetti noodles are infused with the pasta sauce. I was a little surprised with how well it turned out, even with frozen meatballs. I think my daughter said it best when she said, “mmmm…yummy!” Yes, it was quite yummy.

This is a wonderful recipe for busy parents. You can easily come home from work and still serve a great meal in only 30 minutes. This is something that you can even have your teenage kids prepare for you so that there is a ready-to-eat meal when you get home. As a mom of a toddler, I appreciate easy recipes that can be made in a short amount of time. I am at home with my daughter, but you would be surprised how fast the day goes by when you’re taking care of your home. This recipe will be going in my collection of go-to recipes when I need to make something quick.

Note: You can make this recipe in a regular slow cooker, but it will take longer than 30 minutes and you will have to watch closely to make sure it doesn’t burn.

Leave a Reply

