Early Childhood Homeschooling Made Easy

Taking teaching and your child's future into your own hands.

A Day of Christmas Crafts

on December 5, 2012

Holiday crafts 2012 015

It’s holiday time and I love doing craft projects with my daughter and nephew to keep them busy.  They have fun, and it’s an easy way to teach them various skills.  It’s also a wonderful way to get them excited about the upcoming holiday.

I prepared a few different projects for the kids to do today.  They did some do a dot art projects, made foam snowmen, and they decorated foam picture frames that we made ourselves.  Yeah, I know it was a lot for a 2-year-old and a 3 1/2-year -old to do, but I broke it up into two separate project sessions.  One before lunch, and one after lunch.

I printed out the do a dot sheets from some websites online.  I would happily give the sites credit, but I honestly don’t remember what sites I used at this point.  I tend to prepare for these projects when I’m overly tired.  One site I tend to use though is Confessions of a Homeschooler.  If you haven’t checked out this website before, please take the time to stop by her blog.  It is awesome.  The site offers a lot of ideas for homeschooling lessons and projects.  And what makes it even better is that you can print most of the stuff directly from her site.

Kayla and Alex started off the day doing do a dot art projects.  They made two wreaths, an ornament, and a letter sheet with a tree (C is for Christmas).  Kayla tends to lose interest with the do a dot projects after a few minutes, so I have to make sure to keep giving her different color markers in an attempt to retain her attention.  Thankfully, it worked today.

Holiday crafts 2012 006

Holiday crafts 2012 008 - Copy

Holiday crafts 2012 012 - Copy

Later on, they constructed their foam snowmen and worked on their foam picture frames.  They each did two picture frames.  One frame for a picture of Kayla, and one frame for a picture of Alex.  I made the frames into ornaments so they can hang them on the tree.  The kids were excited to be able to create their own personal picture frames.

Holiday crafts 2012 019

 

pic frame craft 002

The thing I really like about craft/art projects is that they don’t have to be perfect.  You don’t need to have the most expensive materials, and the kids don’t have to follow all the rules.  They can make it their own by doing things their own way.  Yes, I’m aware that when they are older they will need to learn to follow directions, which they do to a certain extent now, but it’s not absolutely necessary all the time.  I like to see them have fun with the projects and put their own mark on it.  Sure, they don’t always turn out the way I envisioned them in my head, but the kids are so proud of them.  That’s all that really matters.  Happy crafting!

The kids ended our Christmas crafting day with a game of memory.  Well...all they do is find matches, but they think they are playing the game.  :)

The kids ended our Christmas crafting day with a game of memory. Well…all they do is find matches, but they think they are playing the game. 🙂

Leave a Reply

